The Tomorrow Team

Planning for a region requires clear direction and broad expertise. The Tomorrow Plan’s Steering Committee provides guidance and oversight to the team of MPO staff and consultants that is taking the lead on day-to-day planning tasks. Together, this group makes up The Tomorrow Team.


Angela Connolly (County Supervisor, Polk County)
Frank Cownie (Mayor, City of Des Moines)

Committee Members
Bob Andeweg (Mayor, City of Urbandale)
Eric Burmeister (Executive Director, Polk County Housing Trust Fund)
Scott Sanders (City Manager, City of Des Moines)
Elisabeth Buck ( United Way of Central Iowa)
Chris Coleman (Council Member, City of Des Moines)
Paula Dierenfeld (Mayor, City of Johnston)
Brad Golightly (County Supervisor, Dallas County)
Barry Griswell (Chief Executive Officer, Des Moines Community Foundation)
Tom Hockensmith (County Supervisor, Polk County)
Doug Johnston (Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Education; CRP Department Director, Iowa State University)
Bob Mahaffey (Council Member, City of Des Moines)
Ruth Randleman (Mayor, City of Carlisle)
Ted Ohmart (Council Member, Des Moines Area MPO)
John Peterson (Director of Community Development, City of Ankeny)
Elizabeth Presutti (General Manager, DART)
Linda Schemmel (Planner, City of West Des Moines)
Frank Strong (Associate Director, Central Iowa Center for Independent Living)
Aaron Todd (Center on Sustainable Communities)
Russ Trimble (Council Member, City of West Des Moines)
Jason Wells (President, Young Professionals Connection)
Jay Byers (Greater Des Moines Partnership)
Tammie Krausman (Iowa Department of Natural Resources)


Bethany Wilcoxon, Senior Transportation Planner + Project Manager
Todd Ashby, Executive Director
Dylan Mullenix, Principal Transportation Planner
Luke Parris, Senior Transportation Planner
Zach Young, Associate Transportation Planner


Sasaki Associates – Project management, planning, design and visualization
RDG Planning & Design – Planning and local outreach
GeoAdaptive – Geospatial mapping and data collection
Applied Ecological Services (AES) – Environmental and ecological analysis
Gruen Gruen + Associates – Socioeconomic analysis
Nelson\Nygaard Consulting Associates – Transportation analysis
PlaceVision – Online communications and maintenance


Shane Hefty,Young Professionals Connection
Sunni Swarbrick, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines
Amy Jennings, Center on Sustainable Communities
Adam Hammes, Urban Ambassadors
Andrea Otteman, Urban Ambassadors
Amanda Weaver, Young Variety
Jenna Nathan, Habitat for Humanity
Laura Ippen, Iowa Health
Sarah Erickson, Iowa Health
Lorin Ditzler, RDG Planning + Design